SocialEngine Blog

SE PHP 4.2.8 – Updated TinyMCE and Activity Feed

Happy Halloween! 4.2.8 is now available to download. Please backup before upgrading, and contact us if you have any questions. Thanks to your feedback and survey responses, we’ve overhauled the activity feed and the TinyMCE editor. Next week, we’ll announce our release goals for 4.2.9 so you can see what’s coming next. Here’s the full 4.2.8 changelog.

Highlights:

  • TinyMCE Editor – Streamlined across the board in plugins and in features such as Announcements, and we’ve also added it to new areas: Forum Topic Quick Reply, Group Discussion Post Topic Create, Group Discussion Post Edit, Group Discussion Post Reply, Event Discussion Post Topic Create, Event Discussion Post Edit, and Event Discussion Post Reply.
  • Optimized Activity Feed - Admin Panel options are updated, likes/commenting functionality is enhanced, and other additions – including “View Last” and “View First” pagination, automatic refresh when a new item is posted, and member names for shared items.
  • Bug Fixes - Event members can delete posted photos and Group members can delete member posts. Clicking “like” or “comment” while playing a video in the activity feed will no longer pause the video. During signup, selecting a paid subscription leads to the payment page. Mail Count on the Mail Settings page remains at 25 after saving changes.

Email us any questions, or please leave us a comment, thanks!

 

  • http://www.facebook.com/MuslimSocialNetworking Mohamed Suliman

    Can we update from 4.2.6 or we have to update to 4.2.7 first?

    • Bruno

      Hello, you can update directly to 428, the update 428 is working fine.

    • http://www.socialengine.com/ Matthew

      You can upgrade straight to version 4.2.8

  • http://twitter.com/MeisterGlenn Glenn Ochoa

    Please add Open Graph functionality in the next update.

    • http://www.facebook.com/jlissaint James Lissaint

      That would be a good one

  • Nick Swartz

    Happy Halloween Webligo.

    Good birthday present. Thank you. :)

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      You’ve got it @google-c443c9fc26ac7d08939dc6bd36db4c88:disqus .

      Hope you had an awesome Halloween.

  • Przemek

    I have a problem with installing a clean version 4.2.8. During “Step 3: Setup MySQL Database” displays the error: Mysqli prepare error: Column count doesn’t match value count at row 5. I’ve never had this problem with previous versions.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      We’re going to check this out further but we think that this is a MySQL error that we resolved. It can be fixed by downloading the latest copy of the upgrade package. Anyways, we’ll still look into it. Thanks.

  • Dima

    My e-mail is no longer go through the electronic queue.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Hi Dima

      I wanted to give you an update on this. We’ve tested this issue and are unable to reproduce it on our end. It appears this is specific to your site.

      You can troubleshoot this by following these instructions: http://support.socialengine.com/questions/14/Emails-are-Not-Getting-Sent-or-Delivered

      • http://www.facebook.com/people/Ted-Sheets/680912443 Ted Sheets

        Hi Drew
        I am having a systems email issue as well. Just sent you guys a support email on this. I have done a fresh install of 4.29 two days ago. System emails were working fine. It seems that the task scheduler stopped working after I flushed the cache in the performance and caching settings. They stopped being scheduled at 1:33 yesterday and I remember flushing the cache around 1:45. Other than that, I didn’t do any other updates to the system. I had the same issue when freshly installing SE4.28 last week and only noticed that system emails were not sending a couple days later. I removed the code and databases and went with this fresh install of 4.29. The cache seems to be the reason for emails not sending and photos not uploading. Any thoughts?

        • Renaldo Sanchez

          This is the same problem I’m having once you flush the cache in the performance and caching settings THE PROBLEMS BEGIN photos not uploading!

          We need some help here.

          Thanks.

          • http://www.facebook.com/people/Ted-Sheets/680912443 Ted Sheets

            Hey Renaldo, do you emails send out or did that stop working as well after flushing cache?

          • Renaldo Sanchez

            Nope, nothing works after you flush the cache in the performance and caching settings THE PROBLEMS BEGIN photos not uploading!

  • Ryan Olson

    First of all, I would like to know when are you actually going to work on the things that matter like an API. I think it is great you built a new product but lets face it, your existing customers who have stood by you need to be taken care of. Just looking at the cloud version admin panel alone is something you should have done to the php version first. Cleaning up what the admin panel is right now would have been a good start to the day.

    I am glad to see you still communicate with your php customers but it feels like you are only putting in JUST enough effort to keep us calm, when in fact you don’t care about the one time payments anymore just releasing another product that doesnt really help the rest of us.

    I would say at this point you need to focus your people on us first… we are the ones who helped your company grow, we are the ones who have stood by you, and we are the ones who would like to see these new features… not see you putting them into resources that do not help the rest of us.

    So, to summarize…

    1. Webservices API that we can all use

    2. Offer the option to use the cloud admin panel to clean up the one you have now

    3. spend sometime working on the php version so the rest of us can be taken care of.

    • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1751431297 Jonathan Cousar

      Ryan, the suggestions you make are good ones. But the changes they’ve made in this version were LONG overdue, and much anticipated by anybody who has a really active site. The things they have said they’ve fixed in this version were things that annoyed people who actually use the site, to no end. They stifled activity, they stifled sign-ups, and they stifled stickiness.

      I don’t know what kind of site you’re running or why none of this matters to your members, but you shouldn’t criticize them for making these vital changes.

      • Ryan Olson

        Look, I am running a site with over 25,000 active members. I get the changes they have made are vital for some. But there is a reality of this that they are screwing customers over by spending resources on SocialEngine Cloud. Because of the lack of thoughts on a Webservices API, the lack of thought in the admin panel, and other key issues. I am thankful for the changes they have made, but until some of the other major issues are fixed I cannot just sit back and pat their backs…

        Now, if they are done with their cloud crap, and are going to focus back on PHP, I am going to be happy, but until then … they have a LONG way to go.

        • skidpics

          Wow. What site is this?

    • http://www.facebook.com/jlissaint James Lissaint

      Webservices API that we all can use would be a great thing if they really do it, but I guess that requires a lot of works they can not do now since they are working on SE could too :-(

      Anyway, beside this API thing, greatly improving the core message system like Facebook just did recently on their site would be very nice as well.

  • Bruno

    Hello all,

    Like with Przemek, I have the same problem for a new install of 428, the message is: “Mysqli
    prepare error: Column count doesn’t match value count at row 5″ and the link is ” /install/install/db-create?force=1″

    In last but not least, with the excited new project of the socialengine cloud version, do not expect guys unfortunately to have in the future great improvements and features for Socialengine php, because their resources in time and effort is now simply divided and split intwo now between the cloud and php versions.

    Thanks for reading.

    • Ricardo

      how did you solve the problem of “Mysqli prepare error: Column count doesn’t match value count at row 5″ ?? I have the same problem :(

      • Bruno

        Hi Ricardo, I did not try to solve the problem because it will be solved by socialengine in the next update in a few days as it is a bug, so be patient, if you are in a rush, what you can do is to install version 427 first and then use the update 428, the update 428 is working fine. Personally I have a testing site on the side to test updates and modules first. Happy Halloween !

        • Ricardo

          thank you! :) i’ll wait then!

          • Bruno

            Hello Ricardo, just to inform you that after receiving SE today’s email of 428, I have downloaded it, and it works fine and it should be ok, let me know.
            Also, what do you think about the speed, I find SE faster.
            Have a great Week-end.

          • http://www.facebook.com/NightFir3bit Ricardo Teixeira

            Tanks again Bruno ) most kind off you! I’ll try right away! You too, have a great weekend =)

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Hey @facebook-710197458:disqus , did the update work for you? If not, make sure you download the latest copy of the upgrade package. Thanks!

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Hey @disqus_5XRkaF1rRG:disqus ,

      Just checking in and making sure that this error you found was resolved. (After scrolling down a bit, it looks like it was.) Still, I wanted to reach out and make sure that you’re being taken care of.

      Thanks.

  • sebas77

    Hello, thanks for the update, it is not too bad and the Tinymce integration is something we were looking for a long while. I want to highlight a couple of problems we are having not related to this update

    - Wibiya integration is bugged in terms of design. The wibiya bar will be shown on all the iframe windows! So even the pop-ups will have their own small wibiya bar (like the sharing window). Moreover wibiya should not be shown to the logged out user by option

    - If an user did not validate his account yet (through the validation email), if he tries to login SE does not inform the user about what is going on. Instead he is redirect to the home page, creating confusion.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Just wanted to followup with you @sebas77:disqus and let you know that we’re working on this issue. It’s not specific to 4.2.8 but is a bug that we need to get ironed out nonetheless. Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

  • daimyo

    I tried upgrading one of my dev site and everything when fine but after changing the theme, site went to install mode. I Also encountered this “Settings Directory Permissions=File does not exist “

    • http://www.socialengine.com/ Matthew

      Most permissions errors can be solved by making sure that the following folders are set to have Recursive 777 permissions:1/install/config
      2/temporary
      3/public
      4/application/themes
      5/application/packages
      6/application/languages7/application/settings/

  • http://www.facebook.com/MuslimSocialNetworking Mohamed Suliman

    I had an error when i tried to update to 4.2.7 before, so i waited for 4.2.8 and now i have the same issue.
    After update is installed I get this message.

    We’re sorry!We are currently experiencing some technical issues. Please try again later.

    Error code: a3ce1d

    • http://www.socialengine.com/ Matthew

      If you would please submit a support ticket, we’ll gladly help you solve this issue.

      • sebas77

        if this is a bug, should not be solved for free?

        • skidpics

          Not everyone experiences this problem, so it probably is an issue on your side.. Are you uploading, extracting the upgrade and then it throws the error? If so, it hasn’t complete stopped the extraction. Try it again, and let it finish until you see the continue button.. I get it sometimes.. but I think it just times out. It will run fine the next time usually.

          • sebas77

            you know what I would really like to see on social engine web site? A public ticket system, so we can see all the bugs inserted by people and approved by Social Engine and their status….but I guess this is just a dream, isn’t it?

        • plexaz

          No kidding. This is why I always hope that the next version will fix issue that are broken after an upgrade. :(

    • Przemek

      I had the same error in versions 4.2.6 and 4.2.7 when I added my own categories in the album. My first category I added without problem, but the other appeared this error. That’s why I’m using version 4.2.5 still. In this version (4.2.5) everything is OK.

    • redurbana.Org

      This is the issues that the page has when active those: Translation Performance

      Convert Language Pack CSV files to a PHP Array. The page go down at soon
      I active those. when I upload this file Bootstrap.php in my server from

      in se 4.2.7 and 4.2.8

      only work fine file Bootstrap.php from se 4.2.6

    • redurbana.Org

      this files:Bootstrap.php

      /application/modules/Core

  • http://www.facebook.com/lourni1 Matthias Lourni

    If there a way for my users to install custom backgrounds without using CSS?

  • Renaldo Sanchez

    Trying to do a new install and this is all I get …

    Step 3: Setup MySQL Database

    Mysqli prepare error: Column count doesn’t match value count at row 5

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Hey Renaldo just making sure that this has been resolved for you. We noticed this error a little after the initial release and fixed it. Make sure that you’ve got the absolute latest copy of the upgrade package. Others on here ran into the same issue and after they used the latest copy of the release, the issue was fixed.

      Thanks!

      • Renaldo Sanchez

        Yes Drew this is fixed, thank you. What about not being able to upload photos?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1751431297 Jonathan Cousar

    THANK YOU so much for making these vital and long-awaited updates! This will greatly improve the user experience for our most active users.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Happy to hear that you’re enjoying the update!

      • sebas77

        hope you will fix the bugs introduced but this update

        • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

          We’re diving into it.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1751431297 Jonathan Cousar

    Can we update directly from 4.2.3 to 4.2.8?

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Yup! You can upgrade straight to 4.2.8!

  • http://www.facebook.com/PofTJ Taalay Joldoshev

    “Mysqli prepare error: Column count doesn’t match value count at row 5″ and the link is ” /install/install/db-create?force=1″

    i found solution: applicationmodulesActivitysettingsmy.sql line 203
    not this (‘shared’, ‘activity’, ‘{item:$subject} has shared your {item:$object:$label}.’, 0, ”, 1)
    correct is (‘shared’, ‘activity’, ‘{item:$subject} has shared your {item:$object:$label}.’, 0, ”)

    • http://www.facebook.com/derhindu Fabian Marz

      hey, theres no line like yours my file :-O

      • http://www.facebook.com/PofTJ Taalay Joldoshev

        so, find line like this (‘shared’, ‘activity’, ‘{item:$subject} has shared your {item:$object:$label}.’, 0, ”, 1) and change to (‘shared’, ‘activity’, ‘{item:$subject} has shared your {item:$object:$label}.’, 0, ”, 1)

  • http://www.facebook.com/PofTJ Taalay Joldoshev

    and, i found issue in activity feed. View More is not working.

    • Shalom

      I also have this issue! in activity feed – View More is not working, not on main page and not on profile page. Please correct it!

      • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

        Hey @disqus_0a9JvZzZLX:disqus , @facebook-100001474599444:disqus and @sebas77:disqus we’re working on this issue now for you. Thanks for letting us know that you were experiencing this issue.

        • sebas77

          good, thank you :)…I had a problem with “Convert Language Pack CSV files to a PHP Array” as well (white pages after that), but our engineers fixed it, we will send an email to you about that. We do not experience other problems, expect the fact that we cannot understand what’s new with activity feed.

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Hmmm…this error seems to be specific to your site either due to 3rd party language packs or a server setting. Let’s try to get this ironed out though. Please contact us through support for further assistance.

          • sebas77

            yes, it seemed to be related to some plugins made by HR, but we fixed the problem. Now I noticed that if I enable the option: “Send HTML with Gzip compression”, the css takes up to 30 seconds to load! We are investigating about possible issues on ours side.

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Yeah, let me know what you find out! We want to work through these issues as best we can. Thanks!

        • Shalom

          @freydrew:disqus Hi I Just updated to latest version (1 hour ago) 4.2.8 and it’s not help View More is not working

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Ok. Working on this!

          • Guest

            I downloaded, 10 minutes ago last update. But @View More@ is not working.Please correct it !

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            We’re working on it guys. Thanks for being patient.

          • http://twitter.com/vladimiroren56 vladroots56

            Then you correct the activity feed?

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            @twitter-71965915:disqus are you still experiencing this issue? This was addressed 20 days ago after 4.2.8 came was released. If you’re still having problems could you send us some more detailed information to our support staff? Thanks!

          • Shalom

            @freydrew:disqus I downloaded, 10 minutes ago last update. But @View More@ is not working.Please correct it !

      • sebas77

        News about this?

    • sebas77

      if you got what I got it means that you are using a modified theme. It looks that SE modified all the themes, you must update your theme.

      • sebas77

        I spoke too soon, it is broken.

  • Bruno

    Hello all,
    I would like to know if Social Engine as the intention to release soon a new corrected update of 428 ? particulalry for the bug “Mysqli prepare error: Column count doesn’t match value count at row 5″
    Yes or No, is yes when.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Hey @disqus_5XRkaF1rRG:disqus , the Mysqli error was resolved and can be fixed by downloading the latest copy of the upgrade package. Please let us know if you run into any other problems!

  • http://SocialEngineExperts.com/ SocialEngineExperts.com

    Thanks again. Excellent job as always guys. This platform is, especially from programming point of view, simply the best. Really great code architecture making building comprehensive and reliable customizations a breeze.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Thank you for the kind words @socialengineexperts:disqus We appreciate it!

  • Shalom

    Issue in activity feed. View More is not working.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Working on it!

  • plexaz

    Why can I not change themes? I get http 500 internal error.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      How’s it going @plexaz:disqus ? 500 errors are given by the server and seem to be specific to a users site. Regardless, let’s try to fix this together. Please email us a support ticket for further assistance. Thanks!

      • plexaz

        I’ve been with SE for many years and I have progressively move through each version and from 4.17 forward, I get this error yet I’ve made no changes to my server. I have a test site with the older version on the same server and it works fine so this is a problem created in the upgrade. My question is, will I have to pay 50.00 to get the answer? thanks for your time ~Plexaz

      • plexaz

        Well, I’ve been with SE for many years and I have progressively move through each version and from 4.17 forward, I get this error yet I’ve made no changes to my server. I have a test site with the older version on the same server and it works fine so this is a problem created in the upgrade. My question is, will I have to pay 50.00 to get the answer? thanks for your time ~Plexaz

      • plexaz

        what is the email address?

        • plexaz

          and to add– I never had this issue with all of the version 4.x until 4.17 and 4.18 and I’m on the same server.

        • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

          You can sign into the client area here: http://www.socialengine.com/contact or send us an email using our system here: https://www.socialengine.com/contact and be sure to say ‘Bug Report’ in the subject line. Thanks!

          • plexaz

            Thanks Drew. I managed to get a resolution. I logged into my site via FTP and then created a new folder in /applications/theme/ and then moved all the new themes to that folder. After that I could get to the theme via AdminCP. I just added back the theme I wanted and there are no problems now. Not sure which theme was causing my issue but I know the fix now…thank you Drew.

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Happy to hear that you got it figured out!

  • http://www.facebook.com/jlissaint James Lissaint

    This update it’s quite a baby step but better that than nothing :-) CONGRATS guys, keep it up!

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Thanks @facebook-661191547:disqus this update will hopefully prove to be useful to your community. Bigger and better things to come down the pipeline. Thanks!

  • Fred

    Oh dear… Looks like another untested release of SE. Might hold off on upgrading… From the comments below, it looks like there are problems with this release.

  • dailrentboy@hotmail.com

    well….the upgrade is nice…but please make things easy…….too many things confuses members,even when sending photos through messages,there shld be an option wch photo to be sent and not to be sent….private photos,public,photos….ect…mine is a gay networking site and things from social engine dznt work,features like,,,recent visitors?privacy for photos, and some nice fancy stuff….ect online and offline status for members when they are online…

  • Bruno

    Hello all,
    Good news, after receiving the morning the SE email about the new version 428, I just
    made a fresh install of 428 and I did not have my installation problem like
    before, I must inform Ricardo.
    Also I noticed and found the speed very good with SE 428 even with no caching.

    Have a great week-end.

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Glad to hear it @disqus_5XRkaF1rRG:disqus . How much faster is your community now do you think? Noticeable?

  • skidpics

    Thanks for the update! Do you think it is possible to get ‘recently updates’ or ‘recent activity’ added to the admin panel for Blogs and Groups?

    That way we can see what is active, and perhaps clean things up a bit at times…

  • bannedthought

    very excited! whoo hoo!

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Happy to hear that you’re excited!

  • Shalom

    Hi what frase I need to add in language manager for translation new option (application/modules/Activity/Model/Action.php – Added Share Action to Activity Feed)

    I Tried {item:$subject} shared {item:$object}”s {var:$type}. {body:$body} but it’s not translate!

    Please I need help, thank!

    • Shalom

      I tried add this {item:$subject} shared {item:$object}”s {var:$type}. {body:$body} to phrases thru Language Editor, and after I translate it, nothing change?!

      Ho I can translate this phrase for example (Alexy . shared Dima .’s video) Please any one can help me?

      • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

        Hey @disqus_0a9JvZzZLX:disqus are you still experiencing this issue? Let us know and we’ll try to get to the bottom of it for you. Thanks.

        • Shalom

          Hi I found new frase in @Activity moudle, db…@

          @INSERT IGNORE INTO `engine4_activity_actiontypes` (`type`, `module`, `body`, `enabled`, `displayable`, `attachable`, `commentable`, `shareable`, `is_generated`) VALUES (‘share’, ‘activity’, ‘{item:$subject} shared {item:$object}”s {var:$type}. {body:$body}’, 1, 5, 1, 1, 0, 1);@

          So I added this one @{item:$subject} shared {item:$object}”s {var:$type}. {body:$body} @ to language editor and after this I tryed translate this phrase- but nothing change?!

          This is standard procedure for add missing phrases, please help me with this issue

  • skidpics

    I don’t see anything different with the activity feeds with the upgrade.. What am I missing? Is there some options I need to set?

    • skidpics

      The view more isn’t updating instantly – it takes a bit. Why?

      • skidpics

        This is a confirmed bug.

    • skidpics

      Hello? Can anyone clarify any new settings? Admin panel options are supposed to be updated…?

    • sebas77

      Yes I cannot see any difference too…I do not understand what they are talking about

    • sebas77

      did someone find any difference yet?

    • skidpics

      @sebas77: There were no new admin features added, just an enhancement done, and mention in case users weren’t aware of various activity feed settings… The ‘view more’ has a bug according to SE now, so I am sure it will be fixed with the next update…

      • sebas77

        Well but that’s not what the description say: “Admin Panel options are updated” is the first sentence.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1507208140 Bale Zeninho

    I want to talk about something. You say that you have fixed “Clicking “like” or “comment” while playing a video in the activity feed will no longer pause the video. ” I want to see that in action. I am telling you to give us demo where you can show you did that. It doesn’t work for us, and we want to see is it something on our site or what.. Why don’t you build up latest version on your demo site? I want to know the answer for that question!

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Hi @facebook-1507208140:disqus , we’ve tested this on our end and cannot reproduce this error. Everything seems to be working fine in Chrome. What browser are you using? Thanks!

  • Stepan Nizhnyk

    Maybe try to get some $ from PHP customers that way you can do more stuff for it) Can release new features for $ and only bug fixes for free. For example every new version that has good amount of new features will cost $10-$40. Create more plugins I’m sure people will better buy them from you than from third-party developer.

    Or maybe we can just wait till Cloud becomes popular, and than use it’s budget for SE PHP))

    • http://www.facebook.com/amando.blasco Amando Blasco

      Paying for features that customers are asking: yes. Paying for fixing bugs… That’s a programmer’s dream…

  • tcartr

    4.2.8 has messed up the comments on photos, videos and blogs.

    You have to try multiple times, and when the comment does register it is buried and you have to click view more Comments and then View later Comments to see the most recent?

    How is a user supposed to know the comment was made when it is not by defaukt shown if it did work to begin with? Either 4.2.8 has bugs when commenting on the areas my usrs have reported and tested by myself or the update broke my site. This is why I am always hesitant to make updates on anything when what I have is working fine.

    • CeScO

      me too. Problems with comments

      • tcartr

        Also view more not working, and uploaded a video and sitting in que over an hour before my videos were done and ready to view in less than a minute.

        • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

          @tcartr:disqus are you still experiencing this problem? We noticed this error a little after the initial release and fixed it. Make sure that you’ve got the absolute latest copy of the upgrade package. Others on here ran into the same issue and after they used the latest copy of the release, the issue was fixed.

          I just want to make sure that this is working properly for you. Thanks.

          • tcartr

            Thanks it has been resolved.

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Great to hear!

          • http://twitter.com/JeffCummings1 Jeff Cummings

            I’m having similar problems. Now that 4.2.9 is out and I have already updated, can I revert back to the last working version of 4.2.8 and where would I download the upgrade?

          • tcartr

            On user profiles, a reply to a comment is not working..you can make post in the main share window but replying to a coment is not updating, I tested and it is so. *sigh*

  • CeScO

    [BUG] Blog comments: after upgrading to this version, blog posts can’t be commented. Old one and new one aswell. How can i fix it? Thanks

    • CeScO

      No update??

  • salvatore t.

    Can’t post any comments in a Blog after updating to 4.2.8!

    • CeScO

      me too, hope they fix it as soon as possible!

      • salvatore t.

        hope so

    • sebas77

      works for me

      • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

        Happy to hear that @sebas77:disqus

        @salvatore_t:disqus are you still experiencing this issue?

        • salvatore t.

          yes, i still can’t post any comment on the blog (in the blog’s page) but it works if i post comment in the Member’s Home

          • sebas77

            I tested on the blog page, it appears to work for me

          • salvatore t.

            good for you!

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            Ok. Working on it! Thanks for letting us know.

          • salvatore t.

            Thanks Drew.

          • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

            You got it.

          • http://twitter.com/JeffCummings1 Jeff Cummings

            I’m having a similar problem. Members are not able to comment in any area of the site to new members who have joined since upgrading to 4.2.8. The comment link doesn’t even appear as an option. Also, some members have complained that they can click on the comment link, write their comment, but when they click the button to submit, nothing happens. Is there a resolution to this that has been found?

  • tcartr

    When is the bug fix update coming? I see others have the same issues with comments as I do.
    I will never update immediately again, never.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1507208140 Bale Zeninho

    This is something that is must have. If someone has integrated fb and twitter in his settings, he should receive this kind of update! Can you do that in later builds?

    ps. why you still have 4.2.6 on your demo. Why don’t you upgrade first to latest version to show us how it works? Please answer to this question!

    • sebas77

      Update the demo is very important

  • Fred

    What a mess! Thank god I didn’t upgrade…

  • Morne

    seems like you guys are adding more and more bugs with each “update” are you doing this on purpose to try and force us to stop using se4???!!!

    • Renaldo Sanchez

      I cant upload photos, can create albums but cant upload pictures…

      • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

        We’ll look into. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

        • Renaldo Sanchez

          how would I know this have been fixed?

          thank you.

          • Louis Belcourt

            Have the same problem. Upload photos looks like it has loaded but album is empty.

          • http://playzirlibertin.com/ Playzir

            same problem someone has the solution

          • Louis Belcourt

            I still can’t get it to work and it’s becoming urgent. Can you tell me who has a solution?That would be very much appreciated.

          • Renaldo Sanchez

            Anything on this? We haven’t been able to use the site?

            Thanks.

            Rєnαldσ Sάnchєz

        • Playzir

          Upload photos looks like it has loaded but album is empty.same problem post links Photo post nothing works

          • Renaldo Sanchez

            Anything on fixing this?

            Rєnαldσ Sάnchєz

      • skidpics

        Mine is working fine. Hmmm

      • Bedard_Michel

        I was unable to create albums on my website after update 4.2.8 after several ticket nobody has solved my problem discourage I reinstall SE full this problem is active from November 7 and always present
        the only browser or it is possible to post pictures isgoogle chrom. Firefox and other browser was unable to create albums and post pictures.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOdFRVJSLBQ&feature=youtu.be

    • Renaldo Sanchez

      phpFOX looking good, with them you can upload pictures via mobile. but I like more

      SE PHP 4.2.8

      • skidpics

        It’s a need to be able to upload photos on the mobile app with android and iphone. Imperative!

  • Martin Bo Ericson

    Is that normal that this photo is from a PRIVATE group and everyone can hotlink the photo

    even without being in the group or even loggued in. And all other file also can be hotlinked.

    example :

    http://www.mywebsiteurl.com/public/group_photo/a8/01/01a7_64d0.JPG

    This is from a provite groupe

    now I am being sued because some files that are supposed to be private are in fact not privite

    is this something on my end or its socialengine core that its made like this so media can be private ?

    I really need help bad with this because I have a lot of people that will move away if this stay like this.

  • sebas77

    “Optimized Activity Feed – Admin Panel options are updated, likes/commenting functionality is enhanced, and other additions – including “View Last” and “View First” pagination, automatic refresh when a new item is posted, and member names for shared items.” I just installed the update, but honestly I cannot see any difference in the Activity Feed, any help?

    • sebas77

      did anybody find out what they are talking about?

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Just wanted to give you the lowdown on what we improved upon with this latest update:

      Minor improvements to the activity feed were made including: Bug fixes in Activity Feed when video is playing and the Like or comment link is clicked stops and minimizes the video, added Share Action to Activity Feed, automatic refresh on Activity Feed, allow group owners to delete posts, fixes Captcha enabled commenting leaves Captcha after submission and fixed page refresh when a comment is posted.

      Thanks!

      • sebas77

        thank you for the update, what about the: ““View Last” and “View First” pagination, automatic refresh when a new item is posted, and member names for shared items.”?

        Also you say : “Admin Panel options are updated”, but I do not see any difference!

  • sebas77

    this is quite fun, their demo http://demo.socialengine.net/ is still running with 4.2.6! They did not dare to update :/

    • sebas77

      I am afraid to say that SE devs are not reliable anymore…

      • dailrentboy@hotmail.com

        ur right

  • Fred

    Is it me or does it seem awfully quiet in here? Where are the responses to our concerns about 4.2.8 from the admin team developing this crap?

    • Dirty Frank

      Ssss your waking them up, they are having a “I don’t give a rats ass” holiday.

  • Renaldo Sanchez

    Cant upload pictures after creating album, Using SE 4.2.8.

  • redurbana.Org

    This is the issues that the page has when active those: Translation Performance

    Convert Language Pack CSV files to a PHP Array. The page go down at soon
    I active those. when I upload this file Bootstrap.php in my server from

    in se 4.2.7 and 4.2.8

    only work fine file Bootstrap.php from se 4.2.6

    this files:Bootstrap.php
    from
    /application/modules/Core

  • redurbana.Org

    I had an error when i tried to update to 4.2.7 before, so i waited for 4.2.8 and now i have the same issue.
    After update is installed I get this message.

    We’re sorry!We are currently experiencing some technical issues. Please try again later.

    Error code: a3ce1d

  • http://playzirlibertin.com/ Playzir

    Not very happy with your support, technical it’s been two weeks I am unable to download file on my site, everything you say has found I’m sorry but it appears that mod_security2.c is still enabled on your site.

    I never install mod_security you never push the search for BUG on my site, you passed my service $ 50 to buy another service extension, SocialEngineAddOns to push further than you and find out what that thing.

    We debug the issue and noticed that when we try to upload the photo then a javascript error comes at your site in SocialEngine Core JS libraries. We have also attached a screenshot of this. So, we would like to request you that please ask about this issue with the SocialEngine Support team. I hope they will help you in resolving this issue.

  • http://playzirlibertin.com/ Playzir

    I cant upload photos, can create albums but cant upload pictures… it has loaded but album is empty.

  • disqus_CAKd8k4Ve9

    abandoned! nuff said….

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      How can I help you @disqus_CAKd8k4Ve9:disqus ? We’re trying to get to these issues as fast and effectively as possible. Thanks!

  • sebas77

    I want to give 2 advices to SocialEngine if I may:

    - I understand you are looking for a recurring revenue business model, but I suggest to add more options for the ticket support price model. In one month usually I do not have more than one or two real issues that you can solve. I haven’t any intention to spend 50$ just to open one ticket that could also be one bug in SE. Instead I would be more than happy to pay 50$ for a fixed number of tokens that I can spend in opening ticket whenever I want! like, for example, 50$ for 10 tickets.

    - I (we) need an official SocialEngine platform discussion forum! Your demo web sites are far to be good, because they are full of “test” discussions. There are some forum around, but I am not interested in “nulled” plugins, I am interested in real, good e proactive discussions from an official source!

  • Arvixebad

    I fixed 99.9% of my social engine ‘bugs’ by moving away from Arvixe.
    SE is not meant to be run on shared hosting.

  • Aleksey Volkov

    Please fix modules/Activity/View/Helper/ActivityLoop.php, line 36 (SE 4.2.8):
    if ($group) {… throws notice (we dont have group plugin on our site) must be check for empty or null.

    line 56: ‘activity_group’ =>$group_owner, also notice if no group plugin installed.

  • Morne

    Why did my post go into moderation???
    seems like you guys are adding more and more bugs with each “update” are
    you doing this on purpose to try and force us to stop using se4???!!!

  • Ricardo

    Why photos uploaded at home page as a new post is so smaller. why Se Team don’t amplify those like facebook, is more confortable for the eyes. It’s my humble opinion. What do u think ?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1507208140 Bale Zeninho

    this is filling error log every 30 seconds… what is this ? anyone with same issue?

    2012-11-12T14:42:15+00:00 WARN (4): [2] inet_pton() [function.inet-pton]: Unrecognized address (/home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/IP.php) [178]

    Error Code: 5d043b
    Stack trace:
    #0 /home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/IP.php(178): inet_pton(”)
    #1 /home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/IP.php(84): Engine_IP::inet_pton()
    #2 /home/something/public_html/application/modules/Core/Bootstrap.php(991): Engine_IP->toBinary()
    #3 /home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/Application/Bootstrap/Abstract.php(256): Core_Bootstrap->_initBannedIps()
    #4 /home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/Application/Bootstrap/Abstract.php(207): Engine_Application_Bootstrap_Abstract->_executeResource(‘bannedips’)
    #5 /home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/Application/Bootstrap/Abstract.php(150): Engine_Application_Bootstrap_Abstract->_bootstrap()
    #6 /home/something/public_html/application/libraries/Engine/Application.php(149): Engine_Application_Bootstrap_Abstract->bootstrap()
    #7 /home/something/public_html/application/index.php(209): Engine_Application->bootstrap()
    #8 /home/something/public_html/index.php(24): include(‘/home/something/public_html/applicatio…’)
    #9 {main}

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Has anyone else seen this issue? @facebook-1507208140:disqus could you send us a support ticket?

      • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1507208140 Bale Zeninho

        you mean, can you give us 50$ so we can tell you you have 3rd party plugins?? Nice try.. Either you know what this is and you can reply here or stop trying to be friendly when you’re not..

  • Renaldo Sanchez

    OMG, what about the not being able to upload pictures? We can only create albums. Whats wrong, how can we fix it. This is important.

    -Thank You

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Looking into this. Thanks.

      • Renaldo Sanchez

        Thank you please let us know…

  • Louis Belcourt

    Photo not dowloading is now fix for me. Within html block in various part of the site, I have removed the head and all it’s content. Photo album works. Add doctype and other head codes, photos does not work. Not sure why but everything now works. I hope this help others

    • http://drewfrey.com/ Drew Frey

      Thanks for sharing @louisbelcourt:disqus !

    • kelvin

      Please can you explain how to achieve this? Thanks.

      • Louis Belcourt

        I used an old Frontpage HTML editor to add blocks on my site. In between and it creates codes such as ect. I added others. I removed everything in between the and and photos download. When I put the lines back. Photos do not download. Obviously one or more of these lines is the problem but I do not know which one and why. I just do not used in HTML blocks anymore.

  • Renaldo Sanchez

    *bump*

    I cant upload photos, can create albums but cant upload pictures..

    Nothing on this?.

  • Renaldo Sanchez

    Drew Frey, My apologies for bringing this up again but whats going on with users not being able to upload photos??? Man this is killing us …

    Thanks.

  • http://www.facebook.com/ray.roy.lindstrom Ray Lindstrom

    Hi did I see somewhere that 4.2.8 has the ability to ( duplicate ) new Classifieds/Pages entry’s???

  • Bedard_Michel

    I was unable to create albums on my website after update 4.2.8 after several ticket nobody has solved my problem discourage I reinstall SE full this problem is active from November 7 and always present

    the only browser or it is possible to post pictures is google chrom. Firefox and other browser was unable to create albums and post pictures. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOdFRVJSLBQ&feature=youtu.be

    • Renaldo Sanchez

      We cant believe they have not even acknowledge the problem with the photos. or let us know about a solution, this is very frustrating…

  • http://www.facebook.com/stan.man.752 Stan Man

    Since they implemented COnvert Laungauge Packs to PHP Array I have not been able to get it to work. I get no support from Social Engine so if anyone knows how to fix this please let me know.. Here is the errors I am getting after conversion:

    Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING, expecting ‘)’ in /home/website/public_html/application/languages/en/en.php on line 8082